News Article

‘Tale of Sand’ and ‘Rust’ Earn Top Honors in the ‘ForeWord Reviews’ Book of the Year Awards

ForeWord Reviews held their 2011 Book of the Year Awards ceremony this past weekend at the annual American Library Association meeting, and two Archaia books earned the top two awards in the Graphic Novel category!

Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand by Jim Henson, Jerry Juhl, and Ramón Pérez won Gold, while Rust Vol. 1: Visitor in the Field by Royden Lepp took Silver in the Graphic Novels and Comics category!

ForeWord‘s Book of the Year Awards program was designed for booksellers and librarians to share in the process of discovering distinctive books across a number of genres with judgments based on their own authority and on patron interests. The 2011 Gold, Silver, Bronze, and Honorable Mention Award Winners were announced this past Saturday, June 23 at the ALA Annual Meeting in Anaheim.

Last year, Archaia titles Return of the Dapper Men won Gold and Gunnerkrigg Court Vol. 2: Research took Bronze in the 2010 Graphic Novel category. Previous honors for Archaia books include:

2009: Mouse Guard Vol. 2: Winter 1152 won Bronze
2008: Gunnerkrigg Court Vol. 1: Orientation won Gold
2007: Mouse Guard Vol. 1: Fall 1152 won Bronze
2006: Robotika Vol. 1 won Bronze
2005: The Lone and Level Sands won Honorable Mention
2004: Artesia Vol. 3: Afire won Silver
2003: Artesia Vol. 1 won Gold

Congratulations to Tale of Sand and Rust for continuing Archaia’s winning streak!