Strange Attractors


Archaia Property Featured Art--Strange Attractors

Creator: Charles Soule


Synopsis

A young graduate student discovers that his aging professor has been saving New York City from collapse by a series of “adjustments,” a la the Butterfly Effect, only to be informed that he must be the one to take over keeping the city alive. A grounded sci-fi thriller in the vein of Source Code and The Adjustment Bureau.

In 1978, Dr. Spencer Brownfield saved New York City from itself, bringing the city back from the verge of collapse and ruin. And for 30  years, his small, minute and unnoticed adjustments to the city’s systems have, a la the Butterfly Effect, kept the city afloat. Or so he claims to Heller Wilson, a young graduate student that Dr. Brownfield has chosen as his successor. But are Dr Brownfield’s claims about “complexity math” and its application to the city’s patterns of life real, or are they the ravings of a man broken by the death of his wife and daughter, desperate to find some kind of control over the world around him? Strange Attractors is about control—what you can control in your life and what you can’t, and how important it is to recognize the difference.

Reviews

Comments

Add to the conversation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

News

September 4, 2013

CLASSIC SPACE: 1999 – TO EVERYTHING THAT WAS Collected Edition Softcover Retail Price: $24.95 Page Count: 304 pages Format: Softcover, 6.625” x 10.25”, full color Genre: Science Fiction On-sale Date: Sept. 4 in comic shops, Sept. 17 in bookstores Written by …

July 25, 2013

Did you miss Alyssa Milano and the Hacktivist team at SDCC 2013? Well no fear! Angela Jones and Jeremy Shane from The Outhousers provide a great interview with the Hacktivist creators, answering questions related to the comic’s artwork, research and more! …

July 3, 2013

Writer for Graphic Novel Reporter, John Hogan, interviews creator Charles Soule about life in New York City, complexity theory, and his research and inspiration for creating Strange Attractors. When did you first learn about complexity theory? I’ve known about it …